Cheryl Strayed is Pretty Wild – book recommendation


Wild – Cheryl Strayed
5/5 ⭐️

Hey guys,

So I really wanted to do a post about something related to my move to the Netherlands, but since I’m on holiday at the moment, it’s kind of hard to blog about anything based on that. So I wanted to share with you my recommendation to read this gripping, fascinating book called Wild by Cheryl Strayed.

I don’t even know where to begin on what a gem and this novel is. For those of you that haven’t read it, this is a non-fictional autobiography about a senior college student who lost her mother at the age of 22 to cancer, and subsequently she describes in candid detail the fall-out and loss of everything she had ever known to her – her friends, her family, her husband, her job… everything. She not only felt like her whole world turned in on her in the space of one year, but she felt lost and unsure of her place in the world for the next few years to come. Four years later after her divorce, she decided to do the unthinkable and hike the PCT (Pacific Crest Trail) , a scenic mountainous route, which she hiked from California all the way through to Oregon (1,100 miles!).

Although I’m really fortunate enough to say that my family members are in good health *touchwood*, I can relate to the emotions she feels in this book and I’m sure that’s why it strikes a cord with so many of her readers. After leaving school and gaining a year of maturity and reflection, I know what it’s like to lose the safe, secure environment of family and friends. I know what it’s like to feel like the people you cared the about most have turned their back on you and they couldn’t give a damn. I know how it feels to be lost and without a goal or purpose in life. I’ve learnt that life moves on with or without you, but it’s you who decides how to react to it. I admire the way she was brave enough to hike this trail by herself and how invigorated she felt pushing herself forward every day, even if was her “primal gear” that was helping her to achieve her goal. She’s a bad-ass motherfucking Amazonian queen, and I for one know that now.  

What I really admire about this book is that she has such an awesome voice. She talks so openly and freely about her thoughts and feelings that you feel like a close, trusted friend, especially when she talks about the dark phases in her life which sounded really tough. I think it’s amazing how bold she was to go out in to the wild as a solo traveller and even though it could be challenging at times, she pushed ahead and carried on anyway. I aspire to be as brave as her in the future and take control of my life the way she took control of hers. And maybe in the end have a similarly happy ending where everything falls in place eventually… 💕

“How wild it was, to let it be.” -Cheryl Strayed

What books would you recommend for summer reading? Leave a comment below if you have any recommendations 😄
-Hope x

One comment

Leave a Reply

