Interior design tip #1: chest of drawers

Hey guys,

For the last two weeks, I have been desperate to unpack my clothes as it just feels uncomfortable and unsettling when half of your clothes are still in your suitcase on the floor. So last week, I decided to venture out of my flat and search for a second hand chest of drawers so I could finally make my room look half-decent! I found a nice, wooden one which I paid a deposit on and we agreed that it would be delivered on Monday from 4pm-6pm… But he never came. And the day after, it didn’t come. And the day after that. I understand the quirky, laid-back Dutch culture and that’s part of the reason why I wanted to come here, but the constant delays drove me a bit nuts. I waited in on all those occasions, and when I saw him to enquire about it, he wasn’t even apologetic. He took a big puff on his cigarette, and told me blankly that his driver wasn’t here and it is not possible to get it delivered without him.

So today I decided to go somewhere else and the man was so kind and accommodating! I will update you on the name of the store later as I have forgotten it πŸ˜‚the chest of drawers I found were going to be way too much to handle on my own with a hand truck, and he could see the level of desperation in my eyes, so he kindly made some calls and arranged it to be delivered… 20 minutes later! I was jumping up and down for joy! I couldn’t bear going another day looking at my messy room which looked like a bomb had hit it or something. It was too damn much! 

So, back to my original blog, here is how I decided to add a bit of flair and personality to my battered, second hand drawers.

Before:


After: 


All I used was €0.99 wrapping paper from Kruidvat to cover the top of the surface and line the drawers, and some white tack to pin it down! So simple, but yet so effective! πŸ˜‚ I should totally go in to interior design, right? πŸ˜‰πŸ™ˆ

Let me know if you have any other interior design tips/hacks!

-Hope x

Leave a Reply

